How To Clean The MSCONFIG Startup

MSCONFIG is a Windows system configuration utility used to manage the startup applications. While this utility does its job of listing all applications (both enabled and disabled), it doesn’t have an option to delete disabled applications even they no long exist as they may already have been uninstalled from the system.

Now, these disabled applications could stay there forever without having any effects on the system but the list could grow very long. If you don’t want this list to continue to grow, you could remove the unwanted items from the list by editing the Windows registry. There are also a number of third party utilities to help take care of these unwanted items on the list. I prefer to directly edit the registry as some of these tools might prove to be harmful.

Locations of the entries in MSConfig:

The enabled/checked items are populated from the following locations:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Run

HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Run

and

HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows NT \ CurrentVersion \ Windows

Values named Run & Load

The disabled entries are present in these locations:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Shared Tools \ MSConfig \ startupreg

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Shared Tools \ MSConfig \ startupfolder

To remove these entries, you first have to start the registry editor (regedit.exe), backup the folder MSConfig before deleting the unwanted items’ folders.

After doing this, all the deleted entries should disappear from the MSConfig startup.

Be careful NOT to break your system. Once again remember to backup before deletion.


Posted in Vista, Windows, Windows 7 and tagged , , , by with comments disabled.

How to logon Windows 7 the old way “Windows XP Classic”

In XP, we used to have the ability to Ctrl-Alt-Del twice at the welcome screen to get to the standard login screen (where you get to type in your username & password). This is gone in Windows 7… Well not really ;-).

For the average user, it could be sometimes frustrating to have user accounts all over the logon screen. First, this reveals the user name making the system a little unsecure. Second, it just doesn’t look nice when you have over 30 or more user accounts all over the logon screen in a domain environment.

The good news is, there’s a way to come back to old Windows classic logon screen. Just follow these steps:

1.) Run>type: netplwiz > Advanced > check “Require users to press Ctrl+Alt+Delete”

2.) Run > gpedit.msc > Computer Config\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options\Interactive logon: Do not display last user name > Enabled

Without being so strict, you could make it a little less painful for users by omitting the first step above. The result will still be nice and secure.

It’s slightly different in XP.

That’s it… enjoy!

Related forum:

http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/767304-windows-7-ctrl-alt-del-at-welcome-screen/


Posted in Windows, Windows 7 and tagged , , by with comments disabled.